personalized spam

Nigerian money scams are oh so last year … almost daily I receive new kinds of much more sophisticated  money scam letters. However this is the first time I got a personalized one, which in an odd way could even make sense, after all I share the surname with this deceased oil magnate. I wonder how many Joneses got this letter.

Hello  Sigrid Jones
This is a personal email directed to you and I request that it be treated as such.
I am David Dalgarno, executor to the late Mr Alec D.Jones, hereinafter referred to as ‘my client’ who worked as an independent oil magnate and died in the Colombian Pipeline tragedy, October 18, 1998.
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/world/americas/635876.stm
Since the death of my client in Oct, 1998, I have tried to locate any of his extended relatives whom shall be claimants/ beneficiaries of his abandoned personal estate and all such efforts have been to no avail.
Moreso, I have received official letters in the last few weeks suggesting a likely proceeding for confiscation of his abandoned personal assets in line with existing laws by the bank in which my client deposited the sum of 3.8 million GBP.
 
On this note I decided to search for a credible person and finding that you bear a similar last name, I was urged to contact you, that I may, with your consent, present you to the “trustee” bank as my late client’s surviving family member so as to enable you put up a claim to the bank in that capacity as a next of kin of my client. I find this possible for the fuller reasons that you bear a similar last name with my client making it a lot easier for you to put up a claim in that capacity. …

One Response to “personalized spam”

  1. axinia Says:

    amazing!

Leave a Reply

