become your own superhero

become your own  superhero - keri smith

become your own superhero - keri smith

 

I have just returned from the UKLA conference in Liverpool, to receive the award for my research on superheroes and children’s culture. The conference was a great experience. And I am not saying that because I won the award, which of course, is fantastic, but because I have been really amazed by the friendly, lively, open and generous atmosphere at this conference, which came as a real surprise. I never ever thought I would experience anything like that in the world of academia. As I said in my “acceptance speech”, trying to articulate what all that means to me, actually, I have never won an award in my whole life, except once, many decades ago, when I was about six years old, in first grade, and the awarding body was an organization, which could may be described a sister organization to UKLA, supporting reading and literacy in Austria, although much smaller in scale. I won a big pile of early reading books, which was great, and I became passionate, if not obsessive reader. I had read all the books in the school library and in the local church library, by the time I finished primary school. So you have to be careful, who you give awards to, you never know what this will do to them!

The image above was taken from illustrator Keri Smith, who writes a wonderfully inspiring blog, including creative ideas, which may be picked up in a classroom such as this project: exercise #75 found photos

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “become your own superhero”

  1. Endlich: Ein BarCamp am Traunsee « digiom by jana herwig - ein studientagebuch auf dem weg zum doktorat Says:

    […] Mädels dürfen sich gerne noch trauen – bislang sins nur Meral und ich, Tschilp überlegt noch, Sigrid macht hoffentlich ihre Zusage für Samstag wahr (ins Wiki eintragen!), und ich biete mich gerne als […]

  2. anaj Says:

    Congratulations again! I am sure it was a great experience – oh, I would so much love to attend a conference in the UK (ah, that accents:-)))) Don’t forget to put your name on the list for BarCamp Traunsee on Saturday http://www.barcamp.at/Teilnehmer_Traunsee_August_2008

  3. Guy Says:

    The award was well-deserved, Sigrid and I hope you will be coming next year. I’ll be interested to see how your new research develops.

  4. Sigrid Says:

    thanks Guy, for everything, I ll send you my Flickr paper as soon as I feel it is ready, maybe you can give me some feedback!

  5. Cool Stuff My Friends Sent Me This Week | Alexandra Samuel Says:

    […] Become your own Superhero from Deborah LeRose […]

  6. Visita nuestro sitio Says:

    Visita nuestro sitio

    become your own superhero | word and image

  7. tutak Says:

    Our offer is attended to principally to opportunity seekers seeking to set up any eating wedding ceremony
    in different style

Leave a Reply

